Global Warming FTW

weather

#howisitdecemberrightnow

I’m chalking up my lack of Christmas spirit to the weather. A high of 65 in December in the Midwest?! And they said that global warming was a bad thing…

The weather made for a great weekend, even though I didn’t spend much time out enjoying it. It was nice not to be freezing while bar-hopping on Friday night, but I had to work yesterday night and today late in the afternoon. Driving from my uncle’s to the mall, from the mall to the gym, and the gym to Target with the windows down was fabulous. I should’ve gone for an outdoor run, but I’m a total wimp when it comes to outdoor running. It’s hard, I’m too lazy to gear up, and I tend to get bored. I used to be all about distance running and epic cardio workouts, but these days I’m all about short-and-sweet cardio/strength circuit workouts and interval training.

Weekend recap time!

THE GOOD

Lots of massive salads – three to be exact. Here’s a beaut':

kale salad

kale, Craisins, sunflower seeds, homemade croutons, and (my favorite) nutritional yeast, topped with fat free Italian dressing.

A mindfully-enjoyed meal (goal check-in day 1, doin’ alright!):

Image

organic mixed baby greens, romaine, snap peas, carrots, tomatoes, Craisins, nutritional yeast, sunflower seeds, topped with fat free Italian dressing. Again, delicious, although it was dripping with dressing.

A massive sweet potato, nuked…

sweet potato

topped with garlic salt, probably enough to make a cardiologist (and not to mention anyone within a 10-foot radius of my breath) cringe. delicious regardless.

Starbucks was a little slow as I was going through the drive thru pre-work this morning. They forgot to put this baby in the oven:

prize inside

there’s a (yummy) prize inside!

spinach wrap

It’s a spinach & feta wrap!! Best chewable thing on their menu by far.

 

I may have had to pull around through the drive thru (ironically) and wait for them to bring it to me. It was worth it though – got two free menu items just for being patient and nice! You definitely get more bees (and free drinks) with honey than with vinegar. ;)

I also had three great workouts on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. My legs are feeling quite fatigued right about now from all the lower body work. Not a bad thing at all – means I’m getting stronger, right?

THE BAD:

Post-dinner snacks:

post-dinner snacks of champions

Orville Redenbacher Smart Pop Kettle Korn, sliced white mushrooms, and light Archer Farms traditional hummus.

I should really know better – any post-dinner snacking ends up turning into a binge/extended graze. Another goal for the next week – to ix-nay post-dinner snacking. I know I can give it up for just a week! Let’s do this.

THE UGLY

Okay, this may not be the prettiest thing in the world…

ugly PF&J

Peanut fluff and sugar-free raspberry jelly on sprouted wheat bread.

…but it was damn delicious.

IN OTHER NEWS…

In other non-food-related recaps, I spent a lot of time working, running errands, doing laundry, and generally spinning my wheels this weekend. One of the “chores” I had to do was clean out my personal email inbox this weekend. I came across this post by Janetha at Meals & Moves through Tina’s Saturday Shares post. Gave me a lot to think about, and I definitely pinned two the images she had (the ones with quotes). My mantra for the next week will be “YOU ARE ENOUGH,” and I’m going to print this one…

this week's thoughts to remember

…and carry it with me and/or hang it up in my office. It’s a nice reminder to be true to yourself – very important for me, since I tend to feed off of others and listen to external cues (rather than my own internal ones) in general. Time to start trusting and believing in myself more.

On that note, I’m off to get some sleep. Can’t wait to get the new week started. I’ve got some fun, exciting plans to look forward to, and a few goals to achieve! :)

Cheers to a new week. Good night, all!

3 thoughts on “Global Warming FTW

  1. janetha says:

    Thanks for your words!

  2. […] they were slow yesterday. Blame it on the infectious holiday spirit, or my good mood due to the awesome weather, but I decided to #payitforward by picking up the tab for the customer behind me. It’s […]

  3. […] I return to what I was talking about on Sunday night: that I am […]

Leave a Reply

